Universal Access To All Knowledge
Home Donate | Store | Blog | FAQ | Jobs | Volunteer Positions | Contact | Bios | Forums | Projects | Terms, Privacy, & Copyright
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload

Reply to this post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: Administrator, Curator, or StaffDiana Hamilton Date: Jan 13, 2008 6:22am
Forum: opensource_movies Subject: Call for Reviewer Help- simple id'ing by reviews

The download counting has recently changed so that downloads from offsite are tallied as well. Besides pleasing the netlabels folks in the audio collections, there is an interesting effect in the open source collections like this one.

Some items with no description, no reviews, no thumbnails, randomly-named identifiers and/or filenames are rising to early pages of the "most downloaded" items in the search results. Sometimes these are religious, political or war materials. But other times they are commercial films and TV (Hollywood, Bollywood, Tollywood, Japanese anime, Vietnamese, Egyptian, Moroccan, Turkish, etc); or disguised warez; or hardcore porn (often Vietnamese).

Here's how you can be a great help to sort some of these out for efficient curation: Look through a most-downloaded list (total, last-month or last-week view) and when you see something mysterious, write a very short identifying review on the item, in English. That will aid later curation, even if curators can't get to it right away.

The best reviews for this purpose will be concise, truthful and clearheaded. They don't have to give an actual review-opinion. If the item is bad content, your review will go away along with the item.

Example helpful reviews:
"Hollywood DVD rip"
"Won't play- warez possible?"
"Telugu theater cam"
"Commercial tv sports"

Example unhelpful reviews:
"WTF???"
"Should not be here."

A lot of the porn and anime items in particular are carefully hidden behind nonsense id's, so extra eyeballs to pick these out would be great. Thanks so much, caring patrons! :)

This post was modified by Diana Hamilton on 2008-01-13 14:22:05

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Administrator, Curator, or StaffNoiseCollector Date: Jan 14, 2008 7:59am
Forum: opensource_movies Subject: Re: Call for Reviewer Help- simple id'ing by reviews

About time someone seems to care about the garbage dumped on our lawns every day...

Someone tell Telephone Toughguy. Anything he reviewed with 1 star is either porn, bootleg or ideological snuff films. "WTF" reviews would be welcomed in his case I am afraid.

I am all for it but there is some ramifications. You get lots of flak from vigilante moderating, regardless of tact and courtesy, so can folks use the error report button if they don't want to look like net nanny's? I think some people are afraid of chinese sneaker pimps and russian mobster cash advancers, let alone cardboard cutout anti-hippies and religious head removers.

Oh and tons of text files are simply spam. I think I'll write a couple pages about how I sell trinkets and show you the best ways of buying them from me! I can post about it in the forums subversively with a link in every post that leads to my trinket page. Ya know what I mean? Wink wink...

Seriously, let me know about that error report button, I think it is less confrontational and will not keep putting the item on page one and cause more downloads. I tried to explain that to someone who kept attacking and responding to the posts and all it did was drive up downloads.

Anyway, just a long and convincing obervation... anything to get rid of the anti data in this database is a good idea in my opinion.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Administrator, Curator, or StaffDiana Hamilton Date: Jan 15, 2008 6:38am
Forum: opensource_movies Subject: Re: Call for Reviewer Help- simple id'ing by reviews

I've found some of TT's and your reviews useful already, looking past the um, blarney. ;) No worries about a review bumping the item for popularity: if its content does have issues warranting removal, its time for downloading is probably going to be limited.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Administrator, Curator, or StaffNoiseCollector Date: Jan 15, 2008 7:21am
Forum: opensource_movies Subject: Re: Call for Reviewer Help- simple id'ing by reviews

Cool, I'll spread the word.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Administrator, Curator, or StaffDiana Hamilton Date: Jan 21, 2008 7:35pm
Forum: opensource_movies Subject: Re: Call for Reviewer Help- simple id'ing by reviews

This is bound to be a parody by one of y'all, right? ;)
http://www.archive.org/details/eqererwre

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Administrator, Curator, or StaffDiana Hamilton Date: Jan 16, 2008 7:05am
Forum: opensource_movies Subject: Re: Call for Reviewer Help- simple id'ing by reviews

If we mentally replace the Library of Alexandria logo with the Stables of Augeas: Go Team Hercules!

FWIW, I didn't post a similar call in the texts are because in that collection it's too *scary* to ask people to click links with no metadata. :O

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Frank Menzel Date: Jan 20, 2008 8:46am
Forum: opensource_movies Subject: Re: Call for Reviewer Help- simple id'ing by reviews

No problem, if I see something bad I'll review.

Another suggestion: why not try to "empty" the open source movies- that is, moving good movies to other sections?
I'm sure you can find categories for everything, or create a new category with "open amateur movies".

When there is less stuff in Open Source, it is easier to identify bad content.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Administrator, Curator, or StaffDiana Hamilton Date: Jan 20, 2008 11:29am
Forum: opensource_movies Subject: Re: Call for Reviewer Help- simple id'ing by reviews

Great suggestion, since many subcollections were created a while back to be able do that very thing! I expect that will happen more in a later phase, after some more of the junk is under control.

EDIT: Thanks for the help already, that "text" item you found today was likely concealed anime.

This post was modified by Diana Hamilton on 2008-01-20 19:29:24

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Frank Menzel Date: Jan 21, 2008 9:19am
Forum: opensource_movies Subject: Re: Call for Reviewer Help- simple id'ing by reviews

No problemo Diana! I'd love to help a little here.